Tydraig

Home » General » Internet throttling

Internet throttling

technology-and-social-media-overload-1-638

isp

In December 2016 changed internet and phone service provider from BT to First Utility Phone and broadband. At first all appear to go smoothly but just over a week ago we lost our phone line for about two days and had limited internet speed, in fairness it was sorted out within about 18 hours after being reported to First Utility.

I have however notice that whilst my internet upload and download speed is showing to be quite good on my router dashboard not all is as it should be, I have noticed that social media services like Facebook, twitter, youtube and the like are painfully slow in loading if they load at all….

So what is causing this problem, well is suspect my ISP is throttling my connection although they would never admit it. If your ISP is throttling your bandwidth, and switching providers is not an option as in my case because I have signed up for a contractual term which I must fulfil, the easiest option is to connect through VPN. VPN, or virtual private networking, encrypts your internet traffic, hiding it from your service provider. They won’t be able to inspect the data packets, so they won’t be able to throttle it based upon what service you’re using.

My service is back to normal now after setting up a VPN on my network at home, I have always used a VPN when ever I am out and about with my laptops, tablets and mobile phones as you are never protected when on external wifi network’s in airports, cafe’s etc so it is better to be safe then sorry.

 

Leave a Reply

