Tydraig

Home » Amateur Radio » SDR Radio

SDR Radio

I love my gadgets especially if they are anything to do with Radio. I have dabbled with software defined radio before but having read the reviews on the SDRPlay RSP, I decided to acquire one for myself.

The SDR-play RSP is a powerful wideband full-featured SDR which covers all frequencies from 10 kHz up to 2 GHz. All it needs is a PC and an antenna to provide excellent communications receiver functionality. Combined with the power of the readily available SDRuno, a free software package you can enjoy all modes of operation while monitoring up to 10 MHz of spectrum at a time.

The RF tuning range of the SDRplay module is a continuous coverage from 10KHz – 2GHz the front end is protected by a series of passive RF filters. These filters are automatically selected based on the RF frequency programmed. There is a series of eight filter ranges which are shown below.

  • 12 MHz Low Pass Filter
  • 12 – 30 MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 30 – 60 MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 60 – 120MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 120 – 250 MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 250 – 420 MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 420 – 1000 MHz Band Pass Filter
  • 1000MHz High Pass Filter

The SDR play module supports the following modes of operation. Zero IF for all IF bandwidths & Low IF for bandwidths ≤ 1.536MHz.

The SDRPlay has only two connection ports, one is the single SMA RF connector & the other is the High Speed USB 2.0 socket (type B). I have chosen to use a Boni whip active antenna in my attic whilst I am experimenting with the SDRPlay.

SDRUno

The SDRUno software has plenty of room for variety in the layout of the screen to suit your own preference, as with most software you will need to acquaint yourself with all its features. I have no doubt that it will be great fun.

So up to now I have tried three signal inputs into the SDRPlay, I have tried the IF output from the IF2000 board installed in my Yaesu FT-950 also using Omni-Rig to give bi-directional control & the SDRPlay then acts as a panadapter for the FT-950. I have also installed a Discone antenna in the attic along with the Boni whip active antenna, these two are fed to the SDRPlay by a two-way antenna switch.

I have also tried the SDRPlay out on my two transmitting antenna’s which are a Sandpiper MV-10 160 – 6m ground mounted vertical and my Homebrew cobweb with very good results.

Now to sit back and enjoy the technology, winters coming soon & I look forward to watching & listening to all those exotic frequencies.

Leave a Reply

